Saturday, 27 November, 2021

Bangladesh to host Sri Lanka for two WTC matches in May

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 13 November, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Bangladesh to host Sri Lanka for two WTC matches in May

Bangladesh will host Sri Lanka for a two-match Test series in May next year, a Bangladesh Cricket Board official informed on Friday.

Although the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka is yet to be included in the Future Tour Programme of the International Cricket Council, it was learnt that the series would be part of the World Test Championship second cycle.

The BCB official also informed that they have decided to play only three ODI during their upcoming tour of Ireland due to other international commitments.

Bangladesh were expected to play three ODIs and four T20Is against Ireland in May 2020 but the series got postponed due to the corona pandemic.

The BCB and Cricket Ireland rescheduled the fixture of the series again and according to the draft itinerary prepared and agreed by both boards, the Tigers will play only three ODIs next year while they are expected to play four T20Is during some available slot in 2023.

“We have decided to play only ODIs against Ireland in May while we will play the four T20Is in some suitable time in 2023,” the BCB official told The Daily Sun.

“We have a home series against Sri Lanka before the Ireland tour while we are expected to tour West Indies after completing our stint in Ireland. So we have decided to cut off the T20Is from the Ireland tour in May 2022,” he added.

Bangladesh will fly to Ireland for the ODI series, scheduled to start from May 29 after completing their home series against Sri Lanka at home. It is understood that Bangladesh will fly to West Indies from Ireland after completing the three ODIs for a full-fledged tour comprising two Tests along with three ODIs and as many T20Is.

Moreover, Bangladesh will play New Zealand in a two-match Test series in January 2022 which will be a part of the 2021-2023 cycle of the ICC World Test Championship, Bangladesh Cricket Board said on Friday.

Bangladesh team will leave for New Zealand in the later part of December for the series with the Tests scheduled in Tauranga and Christchurch.

The first Test will be played at Bay Oval from January 1-5 while the second Test will be played at Christchurch from January 9-13.