Monday, 6 December, 2021

New season to start with Independence Cup on Nov 27

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 10 November, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
New season to start with Independence Cup on Nov 27
Renovation work on the country’s premier football stadium, Bangabandhu National Stadium, in the capital, by the National Sports Council is progressing fast. The photo was taken on Tuesday. – Reaz Ahmed Sumon

The country’s new football domestic season will get underway with Independence Cup on November 27 at the Bir Sherestha Shaheed Shipahi Mostafa Kamal Stadium, Kamlapur.

The executive committee of Bangladesh Football Federation approved the schedule and venue of the tournament during its first emergency meeting at the BFF House in Motijheel on Tuesday.

The Premier League sub-committee under the BFF Professional Football League Committee earlier in October sent the domestic calendar for next season to BFF EC for approval.

Another major event -- Federation Cup -- will also take place in Kamlapur while Premier League matches will be held in six venues outside of Dhaka -- Cumilla, Munshiganj, Gopalganj, Sylhet, Rajshahi and one of these two venues -- Tangail or Mymensingh.

Two more venues -- Tongi and Bashundhara -- have also been kept as alternatives.

The country’s premier football stadium, Bangabandhu National Stadium, will not host any match of the next domestic season as the National Sports Council has currently been renovating the pitch, gallery and press box of the stadium.

The renovation was started in August this year and will run until next August.

BFF Senior Vice-president Abdus Salam Murshedy told the reporters after the day’s meeting that they would face fixture congestion if they would arrange all league matches at one venue in Kamlapur.

“We have a packed calendar in the next year which is the year of the World Cup. We also have several important international events such as the Women’s SAFF Championship. So, we will equally arrange matches in all six venues and try to end the season as soon as possible. Our challenge will be to end the season on time,” he said.

The federation also decided to complete the next BPL season with 12 teams instead of 13 as it promoted only one team, Swadhinata Krira Sangha from the Championship League.

The season’s curtain-raiser Independence Cup, however, will be held with the participation of more than 12 teams and the number of teams is expected to be confirmed today.