Tuesday, 25 January, 2022

Joty to lead women’s team in Zimbabwe

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 5 November, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Joty to lead women’s team in Zimbabwe

Popular News

Wicketkeeper-batter Nigar Sultana Joty has been named as the new Bangladesh national women’s ODI team skipper ahead of their upcoming ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2021 campaign in Harare, Zimbabwe this month.

Nigar will replace Rumana Ahmed in the leadership position as the Bangladesh Cricket Board announced a 16-member squad for their month-long Zimbabwe tour where they will also play a three-match ODI series against the hosts before the qualifying event.

National team batter Shamima Sultana failed to get a place in the main squad as she and Suraiya Azmim were put in as standby while Puja Chakrabortty and Disha Biswas, who were part of the 20-member preliminary squad, weren’t picked for the tour.

Bangladesh team will depart for Harare today where the Tigresses are scheduled to play a three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe respectively on November 11, 13 and 15.

The bilateral ODI series against Zimbabwe will be Bangladesh’s first international assignment since the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup last year in Australia.

The Tigresses are placed in Group B in the qualifiers and they will face Pakistan on November 21 before they take on USA, Thailand and hosts Zimbabwe on November 23, 25 and 29 respectively.

West Indies, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Papua New Guinea and Netherlands will play in Group A.

The top three teams from each group will play in the Super Six stage that will decide the final positions at the end of 29 matches.

The top three teams after the end of the Super Six stage will qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 scheduled to be held in New Zealand from March 4 to April 3 next year.

Bangladesh squad: Nigar Sultana Joty (Captain), Murshida Khatun, Nuzhat Tasnia, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Rumana Ahmed, Ritu Moni, Nahida Akter, Salma Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Lata Mondol, Fahima Khatun, Fariha Islam Trisna, Sharmin Akter Supta, Sobhana Mostary, Khadiza-Tul Kubra and Shanjida Akther Maghla

Standby: Shamima Sultana and Suraiya Azmim.