Thursday, 9 December, 2021

7-day quarantine for travellers from 13 countries

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 26 October, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

On arrival in Bangladesh from 13 countries, travellers who have received full doses of coronavirus vaccines approved by the World Health Organisation (WHO) will have to stay in quarantine at home for seven days.

But, the unvaccinated travellers from these countries will have to stay in quarantine at hotel or government-designated places for seven days, the Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (CAAB) said in a press release on Sunday night.

They will be able to end the quarantine if they are tested negative for COVID-19 after the quarantine period.

The 13 countries, categorised by the CAAB under Group A, are Armenia, Bulgaria, Estonia, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Mongolia, Palestine, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia and Ukraine.

Fully-vaccinated travellers from other countries, under Group B, will not need to stay in quarantine. The unvaccinated air passengers from these countries will have to stay in home quarantine for 14 days.

The travellers from Group B countries can use the Group B countries for transit, but they cannot leave the airport during the transit.

Regardless of vaccination, a passenger with symptoms of COVID-19 will be sent to hospital for a coronavirus test. If the report comes out negative, the passenger will have to undergo another test after seven days and the traveller will be released if the result of the second test becomes negative as well.  Passengers aged below 18 can enter Bangladesh with their adult and vaccinated family members.

All passengers above 12 must undergo an RT-PCR test for the coronavirus within 72 hours before the flight and the result must be negative.

However, no restrictions have been imposed for outbound passengers.