Saturday, 27 November, 2021

Nawab earns maiden nat’l call

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 26 October, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

Qatar-born Bangladeshi midfielder Obaidur Rahman Nawab received a maiden call as the Bangladesh Football Federation on Monday named a 24-member preliminary squad for the upcoming Four Nation Invitational Tournament in Sri Lanka next month.

Nawab, who grew up in the famous Doha Aspire Academy, played for a top-tier outfit of Qatar Stars League, Al-Duhail Sports Club, for two years before the 22-year-old midfielder was recruited by Bashundhara Kings in April this year.

The new interim coach Mario Lemos also included Sushanto Tripura, Yeasin Khan and Masuk Mia Zoni, Mohammad Atikuzzaman, Md Mehedi Hasan and Mehadi Hasan Royel, who weren’t part of Bangladesh’s SAFF team, in the squad while retaining 17 players from that squad.

“The dream is always to win. It is very important for us to start with a win and then we have to try to go to the final and to win the trophy. Bangladesh always want to win a trophy and that is my responsibility to give them the trophy,” said Lemos, who arrived in Dhaka from South Korea on Sunday.

“I have been in Bangladesh for three years. I have connections to the country and people here. Being a head coach is really a great honour for me. I was a fitness coach of this team four years ago. And now, I am the head coach. It is a big motivation for me,” he added.

Lemos informed that he will add more players to the preliminary squad after Bangladesh U-23 team finishes their assignment in Uzbekistan.

Meanwhile, the players of the preliminary squad will start their practice at the Bangabandhu National Stadium from today.

The men in red and green will start their four-nation campaign against Seychelles on November 8 before they play the other two matches against Maldives and Sri Lanka on November 11 and 14 respectively in Colombo.

Bangladesh squad:

Goalkeepers: Anisur Rahman, Sahidul Alam and Ashraful Islam Rana; Defenders: Bishwanath Ghosh, Topu Barman, Tariq Raihan Kazi, Yeasin Khan, Razaul Karim, Sushanto Tripura, Mohammad Atikuzzaman, Md Mehedi Hasan; Midfielders: Atiqur Rahman Fahad, Sohel Rana, Saad Uddin, Jamal Bhuyan, Rakib Hossain, Obaidur Rahman Nawab, Masuk Mia Zoni; Forwards: Biplo Ahamed, Mohammad Ibrahim, Matin Miah, Jewel Rana, Mehadi Hasan Royel and Suman Reza.