Thursday, 20 January, 2022

BFF finalises U-23 squad sans three nat’l stars

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 23 October, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
BFF finalises U-23 squad sans three nat’l stars

Popular News

Bangladesh Football Federation on Friday finalised a 23-member team without three national footballers for the upcoming Group D matches of AFC Asian U-23 qualifiers.

Tariq Raihan Kazi, Bishwanath Ghosh and Biplo Ahmed have been ruled out from the squad.

The trio was part of the team for the recently-concluded SAFF Championship. Tariq will go to Finland to solve his passport complications, Bishwanath has family issues and Bipol has been suffering from injuries, confirmed interim coach of the U-23s Maruful Haque to the reporters on Friday.

“They are the important part of the team no doubt. We have options, but those options may not fill up their (three players) vacuum, it is reality. We have to accept,” Maruful added during a press conference at BFF house on the day.

However, Maruful has six other national players in the squad -- Rahmat Mia, Riyadul Hasan Rafi, Yeasin Arafat, Tutul Hossain Badsha, Mahbubur Rahman Sufil and Md Ridoy. Badsha is likely to be the captain and Rahmat the vice-captain.  Apart from them, former national player Manik Hossain Mollah and newcomer expat Younuf Zulqurnain have also been added in the final squad.

The coach further said that he could give the team a good shape if he would have more than two or three months for the preparation.

“The grouping held two or three months ago, but I got only one month. I could give the team a good shape if I would have more than two or three months for the preparation. However, we have to take challenges. Our target will be to qualify for the main phrase,” he added.

Team manager Satyajit Das Rupu and key player Foysal Ahmed Fahim were also present at the press conference.

The U-23s will meet Kuwait, Uzbekistan and Saudi Arabia on October 27, 30 and November 2 JAR Stadium in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. They will leave Dhaka today at 6:00am.

The 23-member team:

Goalkeepers: Pappu Hossain, Mahfuz Hasan Pritom and Mitul Marma.

Defenders: Rahmat Mia, Riyadul Hasan, Yeasin Arafat, Tutul Hossain Badsha, Sabuj Hossain, Rostom Islam, Md Ridoy, Isa Faysal and Monir Alam.

Midfielders: Manik Hossain Molla, Abu Shaeid, Papon Singha and Enamul Islam.

Forwards: Meraj Hossain Opi, Foysal Ahmed Fahim, Jamir Uddin, Rahim  Uddin, Mahbubur Rahman Sufil, Younuf Zulqurnain and Sabbir Ahmed.