Wednesday, 1 December, 2021

Cluster admission test of 20 public varsities begins

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 18 October, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

The cluster system admission test of 20 public universities began by holding the exam of science students on Sunday for the academic year 2020-21 following health guidelines.

The authorities of the central admission test committee set up 27 exam centres across Bangladesh to hold the exam considering the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

Students had to take an hour-long (12:00pm-1:00pm) test consisting of multiple choice questions (MCQs) worth 100 marks. Based on the results of the test, an academic merit list will be prepared.  As many as 131,905 students with science backgrounds took the test to get into the science departments of the 20 universities.

Exams for the humanities group and business group are scheduled for October 24 and November 1 respectively.

It was decided that the HSC syllabus will be followed with a total of 100 MCQs while 0.25 points will be deducted for each incorrect answer. A total of 361,406 students have applied to take part in the cluster admission tests for the 20 public universities this year. Among them, 1,94,841 students applied in the science group, 107,933 students for the humanities group and 58,632 students applied for business group.

Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (Sust) Vice-Chancellor Farid Uddin Ahmed, also the joint convener of the admission test committee, said: “We have successfully completed our first cluster admission test peacefully maintaining health guidelines.”

The 20 universities conducting the cluster admission tests include Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University, Barisal University, Begum Rokeya University Rangpur, Cumilla University, Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University, Islamic University, Jagannath University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Jessore University of Science and Technology, Khulna University, Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University, Pabna University of Science and Technology, and Shahjalal University of Science and Technology.