Sunday, 5 December, 2021

Club Cup Hockey

Mariner emerge unbeaten champions

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 17 October, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Mariner emerge unbeaten champions
Mariner Young’s Club players and officials celebrate with the trophy of Club Cup Hockey at the Maulana Bhashani National Hockey Stadium in the capital on Saturday. – BHF PHOTO

Mariner Young’s Club emerged unbeaten champions in the domestic league curtain-raiser Club Cup Hockey crushing defending champions Abahani Ltd Dhaka by 3-0 goals at the Maulana Bhashani National Hockey Stadium in the capital on Saturday.

Sohanur Rahman Sabuj, who transferred to Mariner from Abahani this season, sealed the fate of the match scoring twice in the 22nd and 58th minutes of the game while Indian player Avishek added one goal in the 55th minute for the winning team.

“We gave our best in the tournament, so we got the results. We claimed the Premier League title in 2016, now we got the Club Cup title. Our team are well organised and we always play as a team because we don’t have any superstars in the squad. We will try to keep the same team spirit in the upcoming league,” Mariner captain Mamunur Rahman Chayan told the media after the match.

The top-tier hockey outfit once emerged champions in the premier division hockey league in 2016. The club cup title is their second major achievement.

However, Mariner earlier beat Sonali Bank SRC, Azad SC and Bangladesh SC by 10-0, 9-0, 7-2 goals in the group stage while qualified for the final with a walkover against Mohammedan Sporting Club as the latter didn’t appear in the field. According to the bylaws, Mariner were awarded a 2-0 win against MSC.

Meanwhile, the champions and runners-up team were awarded Tk 1 lakh and Tk 50,000 respectively.

Mariner’s Indian player Avishek was adjudged as the best player and Milon Hossain as the top scorer with 6 goals. Both were awarded Tk 10,000 each by Khwaja Rahmatullah Trust.

Bangladesh Hockey Federation President and Chief of Air Staff Marshal Shaikh Abdul Hannan distributed prizes among the winners as the chief guest.