Tuesday, 7 December, 2021

34 JPC members remembered

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 7 October, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
34 JPC members remembered
Jatiya Press Club President Farida Yasmin, former JPC president Saiful Alam, acting General Secretary Mainul Alam along with others stand in solemn silence for one minute at a memorial meeting at the club auditorium on Wednesday as a mark of profound respect to the memories of 34 journalists who died during the Covid-19 pandemic. SUN photo

Journalist leaders remembered 34 members of Jatiya Press Club (JPC), who died during the Covid-19 period, on Wednesday.

Addressing a memorial meeting for the late journalists, they said their working lives are instructive for the new generation. They have all contributed to the media, including the press club. 

The leaders also hoped that the young journalists will be inspired by the commemoration.

JPC President Farida Yasmin presided over the memorial meeting organised at the Tofazzal Hossain Manik Mia Hall of the club on Wednesday.

Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) Managing Director Abul Kalam Azad, former BFUJ President Manjurul Hasan Bulbul, former JPC President Saiful Alam, existing Vice-President Hasan Hafizur Rahman, former Vice-President Omar Farooq, former General Secretary Kamrul Islam Chowdhury, current Joint Secretaries Moinul Islam and Ashraf Ali, Dhaka Reporters Unity General Secretary Mashiur Rahman, and journalist Nasimun Ara Minu, among others, took part in the memorial meeting.

Speaking on the occasion, Farida Yasmin said, “These 34 members have passed away between October 24, 2020 and October 6, 2021. We are devastated by the death of each of them. Their death has damaged not only the press club but also our profession. They could have given a lot more if they had survived.”

“If we can’t remember our predecessors, if we forget our roots, we won’t have anything to move on. We will not have an identity,” she said. Farida Yasmin also said, “The various halls of the press club have been named after eminent journalists. In this way we think we will be able to retain our previous generation and those who will come after us will gradually maintain this trend.”

She called upon all to highlight the contribution of the late JPC members.

At the beginning of the ceremony, a minute of silence was observed in memory of the late members of the club. In addition to the leaders, family members and colleagues discussed the lives of the late journalists. Many people became emotional while reminiscing.

In the resolution raised at the memorial meeting, it was said that the country and the city are still devastated due to Covid-19. This is a difficult time. In the last one year, we have lost many relatives and friends. Many of them were at the forefront of the continuous efforts to develop and enhance the prestige of the journalism profession. “We remember them with deep gratitude at the inauguration of the 67th founding anniversary of our beloved Jatiya Press Club. We pay tribute to the memory of those who died. We pray to the Most Merciful for the eternal peace of their souls. Our deepest sympathies are conveyed to their relatives.

The late members of the press club are Hasan Shahriar, Zahiduzzaman Farooq, AUM Fakhruddin, Fakir Abdur Razzak, Abul Hasnat, Ershadul Haque, Hannan Khan, Humayun Sadeq Chowdhury, Khandaker Ataul Haque, Mizanur Rahman Khan, Hilali Wadud Chowdhury, Syed Lutful Haque, Ahmad Akhtar, Shaheen Reza Nur, Syed Abul Maqsood, Atiyar Rahman Atik, AZM Anas, Md Nurul Huda, Mohammad Atiqullah Khan Masud, Qayyum Khan Milon, Khandaker Shahadat Hossain, Md Rafiqul Alam, Enamul Haque, Syed Shahjahan, Khandaker Fazlur Rahman (Fury), Shahiduzzaman Khan, Muhiuddin Ahmed, Muhammad Ruhul Quddus, Md Lutfur Rahman Binu, Bazlul Karim, Md Abdur Rahim, Golap Munir and Hamiduzzaman Robi.