Wednesday, 20 October, 2021

11 jailed for assaulting police men in Madaripur

  • Our Correspondent
  • 6 October, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
11 jailed for assaulting police men in Madaripur

MADARIPUR: 11 jailed for assaulting police men in Madaripur Eleven people, including a Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) leader, were awarded to jail in different terms for assaulting police men in Shibchar of the district in 2014.

Of them, 4 were jailed for 10 years and also fined Tk 20,000 for each while seven others were jailed for three years and fined at Tk 10,000 each.

Madaripur District and Sessions Judge Nitai Chandra delivered the verdict at court in the presence of the accused on Monday afternoon, Siddiqur Rahman, Public Prosecutor (PP) of Madaripur Judge Court said.

The 10-year awarded convicts are Lavlu Hawlader, president of BCL Kanthalia Union unit in Shibchar of Madaripur, his supporters Badsha Sheikh, Tonmoy and Kamal Sheikh.

The seven other convicts are Tushar, Masud, Mizan, Rezaul, Nur Muhammad, Rassel and Hazrat Ali.

According to case statement, a team of police conducted an anti-narcotic raid in the shop of Badsha Sheikh in Kanthalbari area in Shibchar on September 11 in 2014.

Lavlu Hawlader and his supporters also created a bar to continue the drive. At one stage, a clash was held between police members and the locals and some police personnel were also injured during the clash.

Following the incident, Shibchar Police Station’s Assistant Sub-Inspector (ASI) Alamgir Hossain filed a case in this regard.