Friday, 31 March, 2023

BCB Election 2021

All 32 councillors submit nomination papers

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 28 September, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

All 32 aspiring candidates for 23 Board of Directors’ posts in the upcoming Bangladesh Cricket Board election submitted their nomination papers at the home of cricket in Mirpur on Monday.

“We have received nomination papers from all 32 councillors,” Election Presiding Officer FM Kabirul Islam told the reporters on Monday evening.

The four BCB councillors - Tanvir Ahmed (Titu), A. M. Naimur Rahman, Syed Asfaqul Islam (Titu) and Md Khalid Hossain submitted their papers from Dhaka Division for two posts while Md. Khaled Mashud Pilot and Md. Saiful Alam Swapon Chowdhury would fight for one post from Rajshahi Division.

There will be no election in Chattogram, Khulna, Barisal, Rangpur and Sylhet Divisions as there is none to challenge the respective representatives in their category.

It means Shafiul Alam Chowdhury from Sylhet, Mohammad Akram Khan, AJM Nasir Uddin from Chattogram, Sheikh Sohel, Kazi Inam Ahmed from Khulna and Alamgir Khan from Barishal are set to be elected unopposed to the BCB.

There will also be an election in Category 2 – Dhaka Metro Club Representatives - after 17 members submitted their nomination papers.

The candidates are - Nazmul Hassan, Gazi Golam Murtaza, Najib Ahmed, Mahbubul Anam, Masuduzzaman, Obeid Rashid Nizam, Saiful Islam Bhuiyan, Md. Salahuddin Chowdhury, Muhammad Ismail Haider Mallick, Md. Enayet Hossain, Fahim Sinha, Iftekhar Rahman, Manzur Kader, Mohammad Abdur Rahman, Shawkat Aziz Russell, Mohammad Rafiqul Islam and Md. Manzur Alam Manzu.

Meanwhile, in Category 3, Khaled Mahmud and Nazmul Abedin will be fighting for one post.

Jalal Yunus and Ahmed Sazzadul Alam are set to get in the BCB as the National Sports Council nominees as they will complete the 25-member Board of Directors for the next four years.