Saturday, 23 October, 2021

Cumilla By-polls

Pran Gopal elected unopposed

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 21 September, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Pran Gopal elected unopposed

Popular News

Former Vice-Chancellor of BSMMU Professor Pran Gopal Datta has been elected unopposed in Cumilla-7 by-polls on Monday.

Regional Election Officer Md Dulal Talukder said Awami League nominee Prof Pran Gopal Datta was the only person in the race of membership in parliament after NAP nominee Monirul Islam withdrew his candidature on Saturday.

The election result was confirmed after the deadline for withdrawal of candidature ended at 5:00pm on the day. But he was formally pronounced the winner of the by-polls around 11:00am on Monday.

The seat fell vacant on July 30 after Ali Ashraf, the then MP of the constituency, died at a hospital in Dhaka. The by-poll was scheduled to be held on October 7.