Friday, 22 October, 2021

Kings crowned BPL champions

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 21 September, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Kings crowned BPL champions
Bashundhara Kings players and officials celebrate with the champions trophy of the Bangladesh Premier League football at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in the capital on Monday. —REAZ AHMED SUMON

Bashundhara Kings played a 1-1 draw against Dhaka Abahani Ltd in the last Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) match at Bangabandhu National Stadium in the capital on Monday.

However, the result had no impact on the point table as the Kings ensured retaining the league title for the successive time during their 20th round match of BPL this season in August.

Kings captain-cum-defender Topu Barman compensated his side with an equalizer after he scored an own goal within a span of nine minutes in the first half.

Topu buried the ball into his own net while trying to clear a cross from Abahani’s Brazilian midfielder Raphael Augusto Santos Da Silva in the 28th minute.

After the shocking suicidal goal, Kings desperately tried to level the margin. Finally, the captain’s header, off a free kick from Robson Azevedo Da Silva in the 37th minutes (1-1) helped his side level the margin.

The champions ended the season with 65 points from 21 wins, 2 draws and one defeat.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd finished as runners-up with 52 points from 15 wins, 7 draws and 2 defeats while Dhaka Abahani finished third with 46 points from 13 wins, 8 draws and 3 defeats.

Two traditional local clubs -- Brothers Union and Arambagh Krira Sangha – suffered relegation to the lower tiers.

Brothers will play in the championship league while Arambagh has been demoted to first division league for two years after they were found guilty for involving in live batting, online betting, spot fixing and match manipulation in three matches of the league.

After the match, the Bangladesh Football Federation Senior Vice-president Abdus Salam Murshed handed over the prizes amongst the winners. Kings forward Robson, who finished the league with the highest 21 goals, won the best player award while Kings goalkeeper Anisur Rahman Zico was adjudged the best local player.

Arambagh forward Nihat Zaman Ucchash was adjudged the emerging player of the league while Dhaka Abahani Ltd bagged the fair play award.