Monday, 20 September, 2021

No Du Plessis, Morris in SA squad

  • Afp, Johannesburg
  • 10 September, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

South Africa will go into this year's T20 World Cup without experienced short-form specialists Faf du Plessis and Chris Morris, Cricket South Africa (CSA) said on Thursday.

Temba Bavuma will lead a 15-man squad which CSA director of cricket Graeme Smith said was "a new group of players, with new heroes to be made."

Smith said talks had been held with 37-year-old Du Plessis but said it was not possible to reach agreement with the former captain who is now regarded as a "free agent" as he is no longer contracted to CSA.

South Africa World T20 squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi and Rassie van der Dussen

Standbys: George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo and Lizaad Williams.