Friday, 24 September, 2021

Senior journo Zahiduzzaman Faruk no more

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 20 August, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

Zahiduzzaman Faruk, editor of the Dainik Orthoniti, died of cancer at his residence in the capital’s Eskaton Garden area. He was 72.

He was also a member of the National Press Club Management Committee and a senior member of Dhaka Reporters Unity (DRU).

Faruk left behind his wife, two sons, a daughter, and a host of relatives and well-wishers to mourn his death.

He was laid to eternal rest at Nikunja-1 graveyard following his two namaz-e-janazas held on the National Press Club and the DRU premises after Isha prayers. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina expressed profound shock at the death of Faruk.

In a condolence message, the Prime Minister prayed for eternal peace of the departed soul and extender her deep sympathy to the bereaved family members.

Besides, Jatiya Press Club President Farida Yasmin and General Secretary Ilias Khan, DRU President Morsalin Nomani and General Secretary Mosiur Rahman Khan mourned the death of the senior journalist.

Bangladesh Pratidin Editor and News24 CEO Naem Nizam and Daily Sun Editor Enamul Hoque Chowdhury expressed deep shock at his death.

They also prayed for the eternal peace of the departed soul and extended deep sympathy to the bereaved family members.

Faruk was born on January 1, 1950 in Bhanga of Faridpur district to an aristocratic Muslim family. He was admitted to the Department of Economics at Dhaka University in 1968 and obtained his honours and master’s degrees in 1973.

Being a student, he started working as a reporter for the daily Ittefaq in 1972. Later, he became the economic editor of the same newspaper.

He was also the President of Overseas Correspondents Association Bangladesh (OCAB) and South Asian Free Media Association (SAFMA) Bangladesh.

Faruk was a member of the Board of Directors of North South University, a member of the Advisory Committee of the Eastern Housing Society and a director of the Securities and Exchange Commission.