Wednesday, 6 July, 2022

Bangladesh imposes restrictions on air travel from 11 countries

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 18 August, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

The Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (CAAB) has imposed new restrictions on air travel from 11 countries.

The countries are Malaysia, Spain, Iran, Argentina, Cuba, Georgia, Botswana, Cyprus, Eswatini, Libya and Mongolia.

A circular issued by CAAB informed about the latest decision on late Monday night. However, Bangladeshi citizens who have completed full dose of Covid-19 vaccine before 14 days of travel date can enter Bangladesh from these 11 countries in condition of mandatory 14 days of home quarantine.

If any Covid-19 symptoms are detected on arrival, passenger will be sent to government-authorised hospitals for further check-up or will be sent to isolation at government-nominated facilities or hotels at own expenses, the circular also states.

In case of unvaccinated passengers or those who have not completed full doses of the vaccine, no entry to Bangladesh will be allowed from these 11 countries.

Bangladeshi expatriates residing in these 11 countries and Bangladeshi expatriates/citizens who visited those countries during the last 15 days are allowed to come to Bangladesh provided that they have the special approval or authorisation from the ministry of foreign affairs of Bangladesh, according to the CAAB circular.

Bangladeshi seafarers and engineers of ships, who have signed off from their ships from these 11 countries within the previous 15 days of travel to Bangladesh, can return provided they possess proper and valid documentary evidence about their profession and signing-off.

On arrival in the country, in both the cases above, they have to complete a mandatory 14-day institutional quarantine at government-nominated hotels on passenger’s own expenses, the notice mentions.

Besides, all incoming and outgoing passengers, except children below 10 years, must carry an RT PCR negative certificate with them. The RT PCR test has to be completed within 72 hours of the flight’s departure.