Kings finish WFL unbeaten

Sports Correspondent

20 July, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Kings finish WFL unbeaten

Bashundhara Kings players and officials celebrate with the winners’ trophy of the 2020-21 Women’s Football League at the Birshrestha Shaheed Sipahi Mostafa Kamal Stadium in Kamalapur on Monday. – MD Nasir Uddin

Bashundhara Kings finished their 2020-21 Women’s Football League campaign with an all-win record after thrashing Nasrin Sports Academy by 16-0 goals in their last match of the league at the Birshrestha Shaheed Sipahi Mostafa Kamal Stadium in Kamalapur on Monday.

Kings skipper Sabina Khatun netted six goals while forwards Krishna Rani Sarkar and Sirat Jahan Shopna scored four and three goals respectively in their final league match.

Among others, defender Shamsunnahar Jr, forward Summya Matsushima, midfielder Maria Manda scored one each in a season where Kings scored a total of 123 goals and conceded just one goal.

“This year we formed a better team than last year. Our target was to score 150 goals, but we have just 123. However, we are happy to retain the title for the second time,” Kings coach Abu Faysal Ahmed told The Daily Sun.

“The league was more competitive than last year. There were one or two teams who also did really well throughout the league,” he added.

Kings earlier confirmed their second successive WFL title after clinching a massive 18-0 victory over Jamalpur Kacharipara Akadas at the same venue on Saturday.

The star-studded club, which also emerged unbeaten champions last season, bagged all 42 points from 14 matches this year while their nearest opponent Ataur Rahman Bhuyan College Sporting Club bagged 36 points.

Forward Krishna, who completed her 50th goal for Kings on Monday, finished the league as the top scorer with 28 goals while their captain Sabina, who scored 35 goals last year, finished second with 27 goals this year.

The league earlier kicked off on March 31 with the participation of eight teams. Kachijhuli Sporting Club, however, got suspended from the league for breaching the disciplinary code during the second phase of the league and their all opponents were awarded a 3-0 goals win afterwards.

In the day’s other matches, ARB CSC beat FC Brahmanbaria by 8-2 goals while  Jamalpur Kacharipara Akadas beat Saddapuskuruni Jubo SC by 5-0 goals at the same venue.