JU reforms anti-sexual harassment cell

JU Correspondent

9 July, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The seven-member anti-sexual harassment cell of Jahangirnagar University (JU) headed by Prof Rasheda Akhter of Anthropology Department has been reformed.

An office order signed by acting registrar Rahima Kaneez said it on Thursday.

According to the statement, the committee excluded Prof Harun-Ar-Rashid of Drama and Dramatics Department after receiving his application to resign from the post.

In the meantime, the university authorities have appointed deputy registrar Shahnaz Hossain as the secretary of the new committee.

Other members of the committee are- Prof Selina Parvin of Mathematics Department of Dhaka University, Prof Arifa Sultana of JU History Department, Associate Prof Jobaida Nasrin of Anthropology Department, Associate Prof Taposh Kumar Das of Law and Justice Department and Lecturer Eshita Akhter of Bangabandhu Comparative Literature and Culture Institutes of JU.

The statement further added that if the committee receives any allegation involving sexual harassment inside the campus it will take steps following High Court rules.