Abahani, Prime Bank fight for DPL honour today

Sports Correspondent

26 June, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Abahani, Prime Bank fight for DPL honour today

Defending champions Abahani Limited will take on title-aspirant Prime Bank Cricket Club in the title-deciding match of the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division T20 League at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium today.

Both the teams earned the highest 22 points each from 15 matches and the winner of the match will be crowned as the champions of the 2019-20 season of DPL.

If the rainy weather doesn’t let the match happen today, the match will take place on Sunday which has been allotted as a reserve day, informs a Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis official.

Abahani will be declared as winners only if the match can’t take place on reserve day also because of having better net run-rate than Prime Bank.

Both the teams will miss their most experienced campaigners in the title-deciding match due to injury problems.

Prime Bank’s Tamim Iqbal didn’t take part in Super League due to a knee injury while Abahani skipper Mushfiqur Rahim was ruled out due to a finger injury in the midst of Super League.

Despite losing key players, both the teams continued their good work in the middle and it is expected to be an exciting encounter at the SBNS.

Munim Shahriar of Abahani remained one of the key elements in the tournament as he scored runs quite consistently.

Munim was initially picked as a replacement for Liton Kumar as the national opener couldn’t play the first phase due to a wrist injury.

Having players like Liton, Mohammad Naim and Najmul Hossain at the top will surely make Abahani confident while they also have Mossadek Hossain and Mohammad Saifuddin to finish the game for them.

Abahani coach Khaled Mahmud said that they are taking inspiration from their win against Prime Bank in the first phase of the league.

‘Both the teams are balanced and whoever will play well will win the tournament. We want to beat them and clinch the championship and we are taking inspiration from our win against them in the league phase,” said Mahmud.

Meanwhile, Prime Bank will be eagerly looking forward to clinching their second DPL title after the 2014-15 season and they have got a very balanced side to achieve it.

Prime Bank opener Rony Talukdar and middle-order batsman  Mohammad Mithun is in red-hot form scoring over 300 runs in the league while their pace trio comprising  Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain remained an integral part of their success so far in the league.

“I think we have a balanced side and we know that if we can play to our potential we have all the chances to clinch the trophy. We need to make sure we take all the chances and keep our nerves in control during the crucial juncture of the game,” said Prime Bank coach Sarowar Imran.

The match was expected to be the opening game of the final day but CCDM announced on Friday that the match will be played as the second game of the day.

‘’CCDM in consultation with Super League teams decided to make changes to the last day’s itinerary…,” Bangladesh Cricket Board said in a statement.

“Accordingly, the Abahani vs Prime Bank match, originally scheduled to start at 09:00am will commence at 02:00pm while the Mohammedan vs Prime Doleshwar game will begin at 09:30am. The start time for the Gazi Group vs Sk Jamal match will remain unchanged (06:30pm),” it added.