First-phase UP polls today

Staff Correspondent

21 June, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Voting in the first phase of Union Parishad (UP) polls will be held today amid fear of violence at some places.

The election commission has completed all process to hold the election from 8:00am to 4:00pm in 204 union parishads of 41 upazilas in 13 districts, strictly maintaining Covid 19 health guidelines.

Electronic Voting Machine will be used in 20 UPs while ballot papers will be used in the rest of the UPs, according to the statistic of EC.

Sources said election materials, including ballot papers and EVMs have already been distributed and sent to the polling centres on Sunday.

A total of 859 candidates are contesting for chairman posts, 6,960 for general member posts and 2,154 for reserved member posts in the first phase of UP polls.

A total of 28 chairman candidates have already been elected unopposed.

About 4,02,923 voters are  expected to cast their votes in 1,836 polling centres in the districts.

A total 393 executive magistrates and 41 judicial magistrates, 5,088 member of law enforcing agencies have been deployed in the election areas.

On March 3, the EC announced to hold by-polls to Lakshmipur-2 constituency, polls to 371 UPs and 11 municipalities on April 11. On April 1, the commission postponed all the elections due to the deteriorating corona situation.

On June 10, the Election Commission decided to hold election to 204 UPs, including the by-polls to Lakshmipur-2 constituency and sixth phase of municipality polls on June 21.