20 films get govt grants

Culture Desk

17 June, 2021 12:00 AM printer

20 films get govt grants

A total of 20 films will receive Taka 12.20 crore government grants for the fiscal year 2020-2021.  

The names of the films, their producers and directors were announced through a notice on the Information and Broadcasting Ministry website on Tuesday.

The government has announced an allowance of Tk6 lakh each for 20 producers, with a view to patronising and supporting decent and artistic films.  

Amidst the ongoing pandemic, the government decided to increase the number of films receiving the grant, with 25 films selected last year. Even though 5 less films have been selected this year, all of them are full-length films.

The grants were given in the categories – Liberation War, general, and children’s films.

Each year, the Government of Bangladesh provides grants to several full-length and short films.

The government-granted films and their directors are ‘Khoma Nei’ by Zahangir Hossain Mintu, ‘Shaare Tin Haath Bhumi’ by Naeem Imtiaz Neyamul, ‘Mrittyunjoyee’ by Ujjal Kumar Mondol, ‘Mike’ by F M Shahin and Hasan Jafrul, ‘Nuliachorir Shonar Pahar’ by Lubna Sharmin, ‘Joy Bangla’ by Kazi Hayat, ‘Jamdani’ by Anirudh Rasel, ‘Chaader Omaboshsha’ by Zahidur Rahman Anjan, ‘Roid’ by Mejbaur Rahman Sumon, ‘Pencile Aka Pori’ by Amitabh Reza Chowdhury, ‘Jole Jole’ by Arun Chowdhury, ‘Oshombhob’ by Aruna Biswas, ‘Bhangon’ by Mirza Shakawat Hossain, ‘Daowal by Rakibul Hasan Chowdhury, ‘Boli’ by Iqbal Hossain Chowdhury, ‘Srabon Jochnai’ by Tamanna Sultana, ‘Deshantor’ by Ashutosh Bhattacharjee, ‘Golui’ by SA Haque Alik, ‘Deyaler Desh’ by Ibrahim Khalil Mishu and ‘Jolrong’ by Kabirul Islam Rana.

Among the films, Zahidur Rahman Anjan’s ‘Chaader Omaboshsha’ has got highest 70 lakh grants, F M Shahin’s ‘Mike’ will receive 50 lakh, Kazi Hayat’s ‘Joy Bangla’, Anirudh Rasel’s ‘Jamdani’ and Rakibul Hasan Chowdhury’s ‘Daowal  will receive 65 lakh each. Rest of the films will get 60 lakh each.