2 ex-MDs of AB Bank, 15 others sued for embezzling Tk 176cr

Staff Correspondent

9 June, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) on Tuesday filed a case against 17 people including two former managing directors (MD) of AB Bank Ltd on charges of embezzling Tk 176 crore.

ACC deputy-assistant director Abul Kalam Azad filed the case with its integrated district office in Dhaka accusing the 17 graft suspects for embezzling the money from the AB Bank Ltd, ACC sources said.

Ershad Brothers Corporation owner Ershad Ali, AB bank’s former Managing Directors (MD) Mashiur Rahman Chowdhury and Shamim Ahmed Chowdhury, EVP and head of CRM Wasika Afroz, Vice-President (VP) Mufti Mustafizur Rahman, former SEVP Salma Aktar, AVP Emran Hossain Fakir, former Principal officer Tohidul Islam, SVP Shamim-a-Morshed, VP Khandaker Rashed Anwar, AVP Sirajul Islam and former VP Mahfuz-ul-Islam were accused in the case.

AB Bank’s former EVP of Kakrail branch ABM Abdus Sattar, former AVP Abdur Rahim and SVP Anisur Rahman, VP Shahidul Islam and AVP Ruhul Amin were also made accused in the case.