Attack on Hasina’s Convoy in Satkhira

7 convicts get HC bail

Staff Correspondent

26 May, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The High Court (HC) on Tuesday granted bail to seven convicts in a case filed over the attack on the motorcade of then Leader of the Opposition Sheikh Hasina in Satkhira district in 2002.

The HC bench of Justice Mustafa Zaman Islam and Justice Md Iqbal Kabir passed the order after hearing separate bail petitions filed by the convicts.

Those got the bail are Abdus Sattar, Abdus Samad, Golam Rasul, Rakib, Zahirul, Shahabuddin and Monirul Islam.

Defence lawyer Mahbub Uddin Khokon said the HC granted them bail as there is no specific allegation against them of attacking the motorcade.

The HC will deliver its order on May 30 on the bail petitions of 11 other convicts in the case, he added.

A Satkhira court on February 4 last sentenced former BNP MP Habibul Islam Habib and two others to 10 years’ imprisonment, awarded nine years to three others and jailed 44 others for different terms with a minimum of four years in the case.

Later, 18 convicts, including Sattar and Samad, who were sentenced to four to four-and-a-half years’ imprisonment filed separate petitions with the HC seeking bail.

According to the prosecution, on August 30, 2002, Sheikh Hasina, now Prime Minister, visited the house of a freedom fighter after his wife was allegedly raped at Hizaldi village of Kolaroa upazila in Satkhira.

Miscreants hurled bombs at the convoy of then Leader of the Opposition Sheikh Hasina and even shot at her, as her motorcade reached the upazila BNP office.

At least 12 people, including AL leaders and journalists, were injured in the attack. On September 2 of the same year, Kolaroa unit freedom fighters’ commander Moslemuddin filed the case with the local police station over the incident.