Nat’l booters to fly for Saudi Arabia today

Sports Correspondent

24 May, 2021 12:00 AM printer

A 35-member national football team, including 25 players and 10 officials, will leave Dhaka for Saudi Arabia today at 11:00am.

The team will play practice matches against local teams there as a part of the preparations for FIFA, AFC joint qualifiers. 

The practice matches will be held at Prince Nayef Sports City in Dammam. The expected dates are May 26 to 29. Teams are yet to be decided. 

Ahead of the tour, the National Teams Committee of Bangladesh Football Federation finalised 25 players out of the 33-member preliminary squad on Sunday. The preliminary squad, including 28 senior players and five U-23 players, was announced on May 8. 

Dhaka Abahani winger Saad Uddin and Sheikh Jamal defender Razaul Karim were excluded from the squad. Saad got an injury during the camp while Razaul has passport complications.

“Razaul doesn’t have a passport, we brought him to camp to have a look close up and maybe for a future game,” said Jamie about Rezaul Karim.

Kings didn’t release Bishwanath as the defender was yet to be fully recovered and Rana left the camp last week as per advice from the coach and doctor. Later, head coach Jamie put Rasel Mahmud Liton from Rahamatganj MFS into the vacant place.

However, Kings other nine players were put in the 25-member squad. Finnish-born Bangladeshi defender previously was a member of the preliminary squad against Nepal last year, but he was sidelined due to a serious injury.

Kings midfielder Mohammed Ibrahim, who is currently in quarantine after testing COVID-19 positive last week, was also included in the squad. He will be able to join the squad in Saudi Arabia If tests negative by May 28. 

Apart from them, two players from Dhaka Abahani, four from Saif SC, two from Chittagong Abahoni, three from Muktijoddha SKC and one from Mohammedan SC, Uttar Baridhara, Sheikh Russel, Rahamatganj and Police FC were included in the final team. 

Bangladesh Football Federation vice-president and National Teams Committee chairman Kazi Nabil Ahmed disclosed the details through a video message.

The men in red and green will fly to Qatar on May 30. The men in red and green will play their FIFA, AFC joint qualifiers matches against Afghanistan on June 3, India on June 7 and Oman on June 15 in Qatar.

Bangladesh squad: Anisur Rahman Zico, Masuk Mia Zoni, Biplo Ahmed, Mahbubur Rahman Sufil, Matin Miah, Tapu Barman, Md Ibrahim,Tariq Raihan Kazi, Rimon Hossain, Sahidul Alam, Sohel Rana, Rahmat Mia, Riyadul Hasan, Yeasin Arafat, Jamal Bhuiyan, Md Emon, Mehedi Hasan, Mehadi Hasan Royel, Mohammad Abdullah, Manik Hossain Molla, Rakib Hossain, Habibur Rahman Sohag, Suman Reza, Md Jewel and Rasel Mahmud Liton.