BNP won’t contest upcoming by-polls

Staff Correspondent

24 May, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir said the party has taken a decision to boycott the upcoming by-polls to Laxmipur-2, Sylhet-3, Dhaka-14 and Cumilla-5 constituencies.  

The by-elections to the four parliamentary constituencies will be held in July. The Election Commission (EC) decided to hold the by-polls amid Covid-19 due to having constitutional obligations, said EC Secretary Humayun Kabir Khandaker recently.

“The country’s electoral system has collapsed totally. BNP has taken a decision not to participate in the by-polls due to naked interference of the government in every election for incompetence of the election commission,” said Fakhrul.

Mirza Fakhrul made the statement while addressing a press conference at the BNP chairperson’s Gulshan office in the capital on Sunday. He was talking about the decision of the party’s standing committee meeting held on Saturday. 

The BNP leader also criticised the government’s decision of removing the words ‘except Israel’ in the new Bangladeshi passport.  “Israel is our enemy and world’s enemy. They have destroyed the human rights. BNP has no relation with Israel. Our stand is against Israel,” he said.  

He alleged that the current government is now depending on bureaucracy. “Now you (Awami League) are running the state with the military and non-military bureaucrats,” he said.

Mirza Fakhrul also announced a two-day programme for May 29 and 30, marking the 40th death anniversary of the party founder Ziaur Rahman.