Entry into S’pore

Bangladesh on ban list

Diplomatic Correspondent

1 May, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Singapore will stop entry or transit for visitors, who recently traveled to Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, from May 2 due to increase in Covid-19 cases in the region.  

The country has already blocked visitors from India, which is battling a surge of infections, said the Covid-19 multi-ministry task force on Friday.

The ban will start from tomorrow and cover all long-term pass holders and short-term visitors who have been in the four countries for the last 14 days, including transit. It will also apply to those who have obtained prior entry approval from Singapore authorities, said co-chair of the task force Lawrence Wong.

Those with recent travel history to the four countries, who are serving a 14-day stay-home notice in Singapore as of May 3, will have another seven days at dedicated stay-home facilities.

They will also have to take a Covid-19 polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on their arrival, on the 14th day of their stay-home notice, and before the end of their 21-day notice.

These measures come following “deterioration” in the Covid-19 situation in India, with the infection spreading beyond India to the surrounding countries, said Wong. India is registering more than 300,000 new cases daily.

In addition, all travellers entering Singapore from May 3 with history of travel to Thailand in the past 14 days will have to serve a 14-day stay-home notice at a dedicated facility. Currently, they are allowed to serve the notice at their place of residence.