Momen assumes Chair of D-8 Council of Ministers

Diplomatic Correspondent

9 April, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Momen assumes Chair of D-8 Council of Ministers

Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu handed over the Chairmanship of D-8 Council of Foreign Ministers to the Foreign Minister of Bangladesh, AK Abdul Momen.

As a preparatory meeting of the upcoming 10th D-8 Summit, D-8 Foreign Ministers met on Wednesday virtually at the 19th Session of the D-8 Council of Ministers.

The Bangladesh Foreign Minister chaired the meeting in the presence of the Foreign Ministers of the D-8 Member States.

At the onset of the meeting, Foreign Minister Momen congratulated Turkish Foreign Minister for successfully completing his tenure as the Chair of the D-8 Council of Ministers. He also thanked D-8 Secretary General for his proactive initiatives to foster the values of the D-8.

He informed the D-8 Foreign Ministers that Bangladesh successfully completed her Chairmanship for the period of 1999-2001, and Bangladesh will assume the Chairmanship of D-8 for the second time after two decades.

Momen further informed that at this moment, Bangladesh is celebrating Birth Centenary of the Father of the Nation and observing the Golden Jubilee of her independence.

At the same time, Bangladesh has fulfilled the UN criteria for graduating from LDC group of countries. Bangladesh is honoured to be the Chair of D-8 Council of Ministers at this historic moment, he added.