EC postpones April 11 polls

Staff Correspondent

2 April, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The Election Commission on Thursday postponed all elections including the first phase of Union Parishad and sixth phase municipality elections following the rise in Covid-19 cases across the country.

EC Additional Secretary Ashok Kumar Debbath said this at a press conference after the decision the taken at a commission meeting earlier on Thursday.

He also said that the commission decided not to declare schedules for any more elections in this situation. The Commission meeting was held in presence of Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda.

The decision was taken after an emergency

meeting following the 18-point directive to contain the sharp rise of COVID-19 cases in the country by the government.               

Election to 371 UPs and 11 municipalities has scheduled to be held on April 11.

New date for the postponed election will be announced later depending on the coronavirus cases across the country.

Election to11 municipalities and Lakshmipur municipality-2 constituency by-election – scheduled for 11 April, was also postponed on the day.

The by-polls of Laxmipur-2 constituency, 371 Union Parishads and 11 municipalities were scheduled for April 11.

Commissioners Md Rafiqul Islam, Begum Kabita Khanam, Brigadier General (retd) Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury, EC Secretary Md Humayun Kabir Khandaker, Additional Secretary Ashok Kumar Debnath and other high officials were also present at the meeting.