Bangladesh bans entry of travellers from 39 countries

Staff Correspondent

2 April, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Bangladesh has imposed a ban on all travellers’ entry into the country from 27 European countries, excluding the UK, and 12 other countries for two weeks amid the rising trend of Covid-19 cases.

The 12 other countries are Argentina, Bahrain, Brazil, Chile, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Peru, Qatar, South Africa, Turkey and Uruguay.

The ban will come into effect from April 3 and will continue till April 18, Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (CAAB) said in a circular on Thursday.

The CAAB also said they have taken the decision after reviewing the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic situation throughout the country and across the world.

Airlines operating scheduled passenger flights from all those countries will be allowed to carry only transit passengers to Bangladesh subject to the conditions that the passengers remain confined inside the terminal building only, it added.

Irrespective of the Covid-19 vaccination, all the passengers coming to Bangladesh shall mandatorily possess and show ‘PCR-based Covid-19 negative certificate’ during departure from origin and on arrival at the airport.

The PCR test shall be done within 72 hours of the flight departure time, the circular said.

However, if no Covid-19 symptoms are found on-arrival health checks, passengers shall strictly have to complete a 14-day home quarantine.

Earlier on Wednesday, the CAAB also issued a circular on mandatory 14-day institutional quarantine at government facilities or government approved hotels at their own expense for UK passengers.

Passengers originating from elsewhere, except the list, will strictly maintain 14-day home quarantine if no Covid-19 symptoms are found during health check on arrival in Bangladesh.