NEWS in brief

Three elected CCC panel mayors

Staff Correspondent

23 March, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Three elected CCC panel mayors

CHATTOGRAM: Ward councillors Abdur Sabur Liton, Md Gias Uddin and Afroza Kalam have been elected as the panel mayors of Chattogram City Corporation (CCC) on Monday.

The election for the panel mayors was held at KB Abdus Satter auditorium of the CCC.

All the 40 ward councillors of general wards except Sayed Golam Haider Mintu, who passed away on Thursday last, and 14 female councillors of reserved wards exercised franchise in the polling that continued from 11:20am to 12:30pm. Six candidates from general wards and five from women reserved wards contested in the election for three posts of the panel mayor.

Councillor Chowdhury Abdus Sabur Liton of ward no.25 (Rampur) bagged highest 29 votes while Gias Uddin of ward no.15 (Bagmoniram) and Afroza Kalam of reserved ward got 27 and 26 votes respectively to be elected as panel mayors. CCC Mayor M Rezaul Karim Chowdhury announced the results.