Lakshmipur-2 By-polls

JP nominates Fayejullah

Staff Correspondent

16 March, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Jatiya Party (JP) has nominated Sheikh Mohammad Fayejullah Shipon to contest the upcoming by-election to Lakshmipur-2 constituency.

The nomination board of the party finalised the candidacy of Shipon at its meeting on Monday. JP Chairman GM Quader presided over the meeting.

Fayejullah, a member of the party’ central executive committee, was elected VP of Roypur Govt College in 1995.

Awami League on Saturday nominated Nuruddin Chowdhury Nayan, AL Lakshmipur district unit general secretary, for the by-election.

The parliamentary constituency (Lakshmipur-2) was declared vacant after independent parliamentarian Mohammad Shahid Islam alias Kazi Papul was sentenced by a Kuwaiti court for a criminal offense.

The Parliament Secretariat recently issued a gazette notification declaring that the Lakshmipur-2 constituency (Parliamentary Seat-275) fell vacant on January 28, 2021, the date of the announcement of verdict.

Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) has taken a decision to boycott the upcoming by-polls to Lakshmipur-2 constituency.