West Bengal Polls

Babul, Locket among BJP candidates

15 March, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Babul, Locket among BJP candidates

Parliamentarians including minister Babul Supriyo, Locket Chatterjee and Swapan Dasgupta were enlisted by the BJP on Sunday to contest the West Bengal elections that begin later this month, in the latest sign that the party is leaving no stone unturned in its high-stakes battle against Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, reports NDTV.

Babul Supriyo, a singer-turned-politician and the junior environment minister, will contest from Tollygunge in Kolkata. Actor-turned-politician Locket Chatterjee will run from Chinsurah in Hooghly district.

Announcing the names of 27 candidates for the third phase and 38 candidates for the fourth phase of polls in West Bengal, the BJP has also fielded former chief economic adviser Ashok Lahiri from the Alipurduar assembly seat.

Among celebrities drafted in the candidates' list are actor Yash Dasgupta from Chanditala in Hooghly, actor Payel Sarkar from Behala East in Kolkata, actor Tanusree Chakraborty from Shyampur in Howrah district and actor Anjana Basu from Sonarpur South in South 24 Parganas district.

West Bengal will hold elections in record eight phases starting March 27 till April 29. Votes will be counted on May 2.