No BPL this year

Sports Correspondent

11 March, 2021 12:00 AM printer

No BPL this year

The eighth edition of the country’s most extravagant domestic Twenty20 competition, Bangladesh Premier League will be held in January next year after Bangladesh Cricket Board discarded the event this year from their domestic tournament list.

According to a BCB domestic calendar for 2021-2023 received by The Daily Sun, the tournament will take place between January 14 to February 18, 2022 while the ninth edition of the tournament will be played between January 3 to February 17, 2023.

The seventh edition of BPL, which was named ‘Bangabandhu BPL’ to mark the birth centenary of Father of the Nation, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, was earlier held between December 11, 2019 to January 17, 2020.

Rajshahi Royals won the title after beating Khulna Tigers in the final in a tournament that was played without any franchises after BCB took charge of the event when a fallout took place between the previous franchises and BCB.

BCB could not arrange the tournament afterwards because of the Covid-19 pandemic although they hosted the Bangabandhu T20 Cup last year, one of the two domestic competitions that brought back cricket in the country after a long layoff.

BCB, however, is set to arrange two National Cricket Leagues this year, first in between March 22 to April 30 and second in between October 15 to November 25.

The ninth edition of Bangladesh Cricket League, another first-class tournament after NCL, will get underway on December 1 this year.

BCB has also made three different windows in May-June this year to complete their unfinished Dhaka Premier League 2019-20.

However, the fate of the tournament is attached with the possibility of Asia Cup 2020 as the tournament date is yet to be finalised.

DPL 2020-21 will be held between April 15 to May 22, 2022 while the next edition of the tournament of the country’s biggest club-based competition will take place between April 15 to May 31, 2023.