By-polls in Papul’s seat on Apr 11

Staff Correspondent

4 March, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The Election Commission on Wednesday set April 11 to hold the by-election to the Laxmipur-2 parliamentary seat which was vacant after constituency’s independent lawmaker Mohammad Shahid Islam alias Kazi Papul lost his post in the parliament.

The sixth phase of municipality elections and the first phase of staggered elections of union parishads (UP) will be held on the same day.

EC Secretary Humayun Kabir Khandaker announced the election schedules at a press briefing at the EC office. As per the scheduled, the deadline for nomination submission is March 18. The nomination forms will be scrutinised on March 19. March 24 has been set as the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

A total of 371 UPs will go to election in the first phase while eleven municipalities will go for polls in the sixth phase on the same day.

The elections to the 30 UPs and the municipalities will be conducted using electronic voting machines. The Lakshmipur-2 by-polls will be also conducted through EVMs.

Regional Election Officer of Cumilla has been given the responsibility of Returning Officer in the by-election in Lakshimpur-2 seat.