Fifth-phase municipal polls today

Staff Correspondent

28 February, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The fifth-phase election to 29 municipalities under 20 districts will be held today amid festivity.

The voting will start at 8:00am and continue until 4:00pm without any break while the police administration has taken adequate security measures to avert any untoward incidents.

The EC declared schedules for holding polls in 31 municipalities under the fifth phase but the election to

two municipalities was postponed. Besides, all candidates of one municipality won uncontested while election to another municipality is being held in this phase, according to the EC.

The EC postponed elections to Jashore and Dewanganj municipalities due to the order of High Court, it said.

A total of 100 mayoral candidates, 342 councillors for reserved seats and 1,270 councillors are also battling in the general seats under the municipality polls.

The polling will be held under Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) system in 29 municipalities. A total of 29 returning officers and 29 assistant returning officers will be on duty in the election.

All-out preparations have been taken by the EC for holding free, fair and neutral polls, said the EC official, adding that adequate members of the law enforcement agencies and magistrates have been deployed for holding the municipality polls across the country, said EC secretary Md Humayun Kabir Khandaker.

A total of 300 executive magistrates and 30 judicial magistrates along with the members of Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB), police and Ansars have been deployed in the areas other than the polls centres.

Restrictions have been imposed on vehicle movement in the electoral areas under the municipality areas.

About 13,84,165 voters are scheduled to cast their votes in 4,229 polling centres.

A total of 300 executive magistrates and 30 judicial magistrates along with patrolling teams of police, APBN and Ansar Battalion, 100 teams of Rapid Action Battalion, two platoons of BGB and one platoon of Coast Guard will be deployed in the municipalities for holding the elections peacefully.