5th-phase municipal elections tomorrow

Staff Correspondent

27 February, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The Election Commission has taken all-out preparations to hold the fifth-phase elections to 30 municipalities in the country tomorrow.

Earlier on Friday night, the election campaign ended at all the municipalities.

Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) would be used in the polls. In this regard, mock voting was completed in the polling centres, EC officials said.

In this phase, candidates will run for the posts of 30 mayors, 300 general councilors, and 100 reserved councilors.

The 30 municipalities are: Rangunia, Mirsarai and

Bariarhat of Chattogram, Raipur of Laxmipur, Nachol of Chapainawabganj, Habiganj municipality, Dewanganj, Islampur, Madarganj and Jamalpur Sadar of Jamalpur district, Charghat and Durgapur of Rajshahi, Bagura Sadar, Singair of Manikganj, Matlab and Shaharasti of Chandpur, Keshabpur of Jashore district, Shibchar and Madaripur Sadar of Madaripur, Haragach of Rangpur, Brahmanbaria Sadar of Brahmanbaria, Kaliganj and Maheshpur of Jhenaidah, Joypurhat Sadar of Joypurhat, Nandail of Mymensingh, Bhola Sadar of Bhola district, Saidpur Pourashava under Nilphamari district and Kaliganj of Gazipur.

Meanwhile, security was tightened in the municipalities to avoid any untoward incident.

A total of 300 executive magistrates and 30 judicial magistrates along with 100 patrolling teams of police, APBN and Ansar Battalion, 100 teams of Rapid Action Battalion, two platoons of BGB and one platoon of Coast Guard will be deployed in the municipalities for holding the elections peacefully.

A total 1.41 million voters will cast their votes in 637 centres.

Meantime, the High Court has suspended the polls of Jashore Sadar municipality. All the candidates of Raozan Municipality under Chattogram district have been elected unopposed.