Varsity intake tests start Feb 26

Staff Correspondent

18 February, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Tests for admissions to first year honours courses at the country’s public universities under 2020-21 academic session will begin on February 26.

Bangladesh Bishwabidyalaya Parishad, an association of public university vice-chancellors, took the decision at a meeting held on Wednesday with its President and Chittagong University of Engineering and Technology (Cuet) VC Prof Mohammad Rafiqul Alam in the chair.

According to the decision, the university admission tests will be completed by July this year starting from February 26.

The cluster admission tests for 20 public universities will begin on June 19.

Three exams -- one for Arts, one for Science and one for Business Studies students -- will be held to enrol students in the 20 universities.

 The exam for Arts students will be held on June 19 while that of Business Studies on June 26 and the entry test of Science students will be held on July 3 or 10.

The 20 universities include Jagannath University, Shahjalal University of Science and Technology, Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University, Comilla University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Khulna University, Begum Rokeya University, Islamic University, Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University, Jashore University of Science and Technology, Pabna University of Science and Technology, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University, University of Barishal, Rangamati Science and Technology University, Rabindra University, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Digital University, Bangamata Sheikh Fojilatunnesa Mujib Science and Technology University and Sheikh Hasina University.

The cluster system admission test for seven agricultural and agricultural subjects-based public universities will be held on May 29.

The universities are Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University, Bangladesh Agricultural University, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University, Sylhet Agricultural University, Khulna Agricultural University, Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University and Patuakhali Science and Technology University.

The cluster admission test of three engineering universities -- Rajshahi University of Engineering and Technology (Ruet), Cuet and Khulna University of Engineering and Technology (Kuet) -- will be held June 12.

The admission tests of Dhaka University will be held between May 21 and June 5 while that of Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (Buet) will be held June 10.

The entry tests of Jahangirnagar University will be held from June 6 to June 20 while Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Maritime University will take the tests from June 4 to June 5, Bangladesh University of Textiles on June 18, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Aviation and Aerospace University on June 27 and Bangladesh University of Professionals (BUP) will be held on February 26 and February 27.

Rajshahi University, Chittagong University and National University have not yet fixed dates of the admission tests.

Meanwhile, the admission tests for MBBS and dental courses will be held on April 2 and April 30 respectively.