EWMGL receives top taxpayer award

Staff Correspondent

12 February, 2021 12:00 AM printer

EWMGL receives top taxpayer award

East West Media Group Limited (EWMGL) Deputy General Manager (Accounts) Abdul Mannan receives the highest taxpayer award on behalf of the company from Tax Zone-5 Commissioner Shoaeb Ahmed in the capital on Thursday.

East West Media Group Limited (EWMGL), a concern of the country’s leading business conglomerate Bashundhara Group, has been honoured once again as the top taxpayer in print and electronic media category.

The National Board of Revenue (NBR) on Thursday handed over the tax card to 141 highest tax-paying individuals and companies for their outstanding contribution to the national exchequer in 2019-20 fiscal.

The EWMGL owns English newspaper the Daily Sun, Bengali dailies Bangladesh Pratidin and Kaler Kantho, television channels NEWS24 and T-Sports, Radio Capital 94.8 FM and online news portal Banglanews24.com.  NBR honoured the individual and corporate taxpayers with tax cards, crests and certificates at a ceremony held at NBR Bhaban in the capital.

Considering the safety precautions amid the coronavirus situation, NBR has distributed tax cards among five individuals and five companies at the programme.

The rest will receive their awards from the respective zones.

EWMGL Deputy General Manager (Accounts) Abdul Mannan received the award from Tax Zone-5 Commissioner Shoaeb Ahmed.

Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal virtually attended the function as the chief guest. State Minister for Public Administration Affairs’ Ministry Farhad Hossain was present on the occasion. NBR Chairman Abu Hena Md. Rahmatul Muneem presided over the function.

There are five categories of special tax recipients at the individual level. They are- Senior Citizen, Gazetted War Wounded Freedom Fighters, Disabled, Women and Youth categories.

Also, there are 13 categories among individual taxpayers based on their profession. These include: businessmen, salaried people, doctors, journalists, lawyers, engineers, architects, accountants, new taxpayers, players, actors-actresses, artists (singers) and others.