Public Varsities: Tenure of 12 VCs Ends Soon

Aspirants lobbying to get appointed

Md Solamain Salman

6 February, 2021 12:00 AM printer

As tenure of vice-chancellors (VCs) of 12 public universities is going to end soon, many pro-government teachers are now lobbying the government high-ups to get appointed as VC.

The aspiring teachers have started lobbying the policymakers at the Education Ministry and Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) for getting appointment to the universities.

The post of vice-chancellor of a public university is equivalent to a full secretary of the government. This position is also very attractive in terms of dignity.

Sources at the Education Ministry and University Grants Commission (UGC) said almost all the 12 universities will get new VCs as the government’s policymakers took a decision in principle that they will not appoint any person for over two terms.

Most of the existing VCs at the 12 universities have already completed their two terms while there are controversies over several VCs. For this reason, the existing VCs will have to leave their posts and the universities will get new faces.

Usually, the President, also chancellor of all universities, appoints VC of any university as per rules following recommendation of the Prime Minister.

Education Ministry officials said the government is now working to select qualified, efficient and clean image persons who will able to run the universities avoiding controversies.

The government is giving importance to the issue as its image has been tarnished due to the controversial activities by several public university VCs in the recent pasts.

The tenure of vice-chancellor (VC) of three, out of the 12 public universities, has expired last month while the terms of VCs of nine other universities will end by June this year.       

The tenure of Patuakhali Science and Technology University Vice-Chancellor  Prof Harun-or-Rashid ended on January 4 while Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University Vice-Chancellor Prof Dr Abul Kashem’s four-year term ended on January 31.

The tenure of Khulna University (KU) VC Prof Dr Mohammad Fayekuzzaman ended on January 29. The government, in January 2017, appointed Rajshahi University’s teacher Prof Fayekuzzman as the KU’s VC for second time.

The terms of VCs of nine other universities are going to end within the next five months. The universities are Rajshahi University (RU), Jagannath University (JnU), National University (NU), Bangladesh Open University (BOU), Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU), Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University (BSMRAU) in Gazipur, Jessore University of Science and Technology (JUST), Begum Rokeya University, Rangpur (BRUR) and Rabindra University.

Education Ministry’s Additional Secretary (university) AKM Aftab Hossain Pramanik said the government is aware of the expiration of the terms of the VCs at different universities. “We are working to select the candidates and these posts will be filled up in time,” he said.

He also said they will consider the lists of senior professors that the universities sent to them last year for appointment as VCs of the public universities. “Most of the private universities also submitted their proposals for the appointment of the VCs,” he added

The four-year tenure of NU VC Prof Harun-or-Rashid will end on February 21. Dhaka University former Pro-VC Prof Harun had been appointed as NU VC for second time on February 22, 2017.

The term of RU VC Prof M Abdus Sobhan will end on May 4. He had been appointed for the second time as the university’s VC on May 7, 2017.

The University Grants Commission (UGC) recently submitted a probe report to the education ministry recommending action against some RU officials, including VC Prof Sobhan, for irregularities at the university.

The government is not removing Prof Sobhan from his post despite the UGC probe that found his irregularities as the VC’s tenure will end in three months, said ministry officials.

The term of JnU VC Prof Dr Mijanur Rahman will expire on March 19. Earlier, the government, on March 20 in 2017, appointed him as the VC for the second time. Prof Mijan, a teacher of DU marketing department, was also the former treasurer of DU.

The four-year term of BOU VC Prof MA Mannan will end on March 23. He had been appointed on March 24 in 2017 as VC of the university.

The three-year tenure of BSMMU VC Professor Dr Kanak Kanti Barua will end on March 22. Earlier, Prof Kanak Kanti had been appointed as the BSMMU VC on March 15, 2018.

The four-year period of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University VC Prof Dr Md Giashuddin Miah will end on June 10.

The term of JUST VC Prof Dr Anwar Hossain is going to end on May 19. He was appointed as VC on May 18, 2017. Before his appointment, Dr Anwar was serving as professor at microbiology department of Dhaka University.

The four-year tenure of BRUR Vice-Chancellor Prof Nazmul Ahsan Kalimullah will end on June 13 while Rabindra University’s VC Professor Bishwajit Ghosh’s four-year term will expire on June 10.

Apart from this, around 30 private universities have no VCs for months while 25 out of 46 public universities have no pro-vice-chancellors and 87 out of 98 private universities in operation have no pro-VCs for years.