Pakistan ring in major changes for SA Tests

Afp, Karachi

16 January, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Pakistan dropped batsmen Shan Masood and Haris Sohail along with fast bowlers Mohammad Abbas and Naseem Shah in a wholesale shake-up on Friday for the upcoming two-match Test series against South Africa.

The changes were forced after Pakistan lost both Tests on their tour of New Zealand where they failed in all three departments of the game.

South Africa will arrive early Saturday and after a five-day quarantine play the first Test in Karachi from January 26.

The second Test will be in Rawalpindi from February 4 before three Twenty20 internationals on February 11, 13 and 14 -- all in Lahore.

Pakistan squad

Babar Azam (capt), Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Kamran Ghulam, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Yasir Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Tabish Khan.