New committee of National Press Club takes charge

Staff Correspondent

11 January, 2021 12:00 AM printer

New committee of 
National Press Club 
takes charge

Former executive committee members of Jatiya Press Club (JPC) greet newly-elected committee of JPC with bouquets at Jatiya Press Club in the city on Sunday. —SUN PHOTO

The newly elected managing committee of the Jatiya Press Club led by its president Farida Yasmin took charge on Sunday.

Farida Yasmin has been elected the first female president of the club in its 66-year history.

Newly elected members of the committee, including general secretary Ilias Khan and members of the outgoing committee were present on the occasion.

Before taking the charge, leaders of the new and outgoing committee paid rich tributes to the portrait of the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman at the Press Club, marking Homecoming Day of Bangabandhu.

Later at a meeting, the incumbent committee led by Farida greeted the outgoing president Saiful Alam and other members. Earlier on December 31, Farida, a candidate of the pro-liberation forum and Elias Khan, a candidate of pro-BNP forum, have been elected as president and general secretary, respectively.

The other office bearers are senior vice-president Hasan Hafiz, vice-president Rezwan Haque Raza, joint secretaries Moinul Alam and Ashraf Ali, and treasurer Shahed Chowdhury.

The 10 other executive committee members are Ayub Bhuiyan, Rezanur Rahman, Kazi Rownak Hossain, Zahiduzzaman Faruk, Shanewaz Begum Poly, Syed Abdal Ahmed, Shahnaz Siddique Soma, Bhanuranjan Chakrabarti, Rahman Mustafiz and Baktiar Rana.