Feni Municipal Polls

10 AL ward councillors elected uncontested

4 January, 2021 12:00 AM printer

FENI: Ten Awami League candidates are set to be elected ward councillors of Feni municipality as they were the only ones to submit nomination papers from their areas, reports UNB.

District Election Officer Md Nasir Uddin Patwari confirmed this.

On the last day of nomination paper submission on Thursday, 38 candidates submitted papers for 14 ward councillor posts. And ten nomination papers were submitted for the same number of wards.

Five mayoral candidates from Awami League, BNP and Jatiya Party submitted nomination papers.

And 49 candidates submitted nomination papers for general and reserve seats of ward councillors.

The election symbols of Feni municipality polls will be allotted on January 11 and voting is scheduled to be held on January 30.

On December 14, the Election Commission (EC) announced that the third phase elections of 64 municipalities of different districts would be held on January 30.

“The last date for scrutiny of nomination papers is January 3 and the deadline for the withdrawal of candidature is January 10,” said EC Joint Secretary (Public Relations) SM Asaduzzaman.