The Year in Review - 2020

Women’s football league returns after 7 years, Kings clinch maiden title

1 January, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Women’s football league returns after 7 years, Kings clinch maiden title

Country’s top-flight football club Bashundhara Kings clinched the title with all-win-record in their maiden appearance in the Tricotex 3rd Women’s Football League (WFL), held after a long break of seven years. A total of seven teams took part in the double-leg league, kicked off on February 22. But the league had been suspended for more than seven months (from March 16 to November 7) due to pandemic countrywide.      

Bashundhara Kings secured the title with one match to spare crushing Jamalpur Kacharipara XI by 13-1 goals in their 11th league match while maintaining the all-win-record beating FC Uttar Bongo by 14-1 goals in the 12th and last league match. With the feat, the big-budgeted club, which, signed 20 national players to form a strong 28-member team in the league, secured the full 36 points with all 12 wins.  

After the great achievement, Bashundhara Kings arranged a grand reception for its women booters and officials at East West Media Group Ltd Conference Room in Bashundhara Residential Area on December 15.

Nasrin Sporting Club ended runners-up securing 30 points, Jamalpur Kacharipara Akadas became third with 19 points, FC Uttar Bongo fourth with 16 points, Begum Anwara SC fifth with 12 points, Spartan MK Gallactico Sylhet FC sixth with 7 points and Kumilla United seventh with 4 points. 

The matches were held at Bir Sherestha Shaheed Sepoy Mostafa Kamal Stadium in the capital.

Kings forward-cum-captain Sabina Khatun, who is also the captain of Bangladesh National Women’s Football Team, was adjudged the top scorer scoring while her teammate and national-coloured forward Krishna Rani Sarkar ended second scoring 22 goals in the season. The 27-year-old forward Sabina also recorded the highest number of hat-tricks in the competition with the count totaling to eight. Another Kings national-coloured midfielder Tohura Khatun became the most valuable player scoring 16 goals.

Seven teams scored a total of 243 goals in 39 matches. The defending champions Kings scored a total of 119 goals while conceding just 3 in their 12 games. Kings also bagged the highest margin of 15-0 goals win against Kumilla United on December 1. It was also the highest scoring match of the league.  

The champions were awarded Tk 3 lakh while runners-up got Tk 2 lakh. Top-scorer and most valuable player got Tk 5,000 each. The first edition was held in 2011 where Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd clinched the title beating Mohammedan Sporting Club and the second edition was held in 2013 where Mohammedan emerged champions beating Dhaka Abahani Ltd.