Blue Panel wins DUTA election

DU Correspondent

22 December, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Pro-Awami League Blue Panel candidates were declared winners in the Dhaka University Teachers’ Association (DUTA) election on Monday.

However, BNP-backed White Panel of DU teachers boycotted the election.

Prof Md Rahmat Ullah of Law Department was elected as the president while Prof Nizamul Hoque Bhuiyan of Institute of Nutrition and Food Science was elected as the general secretary.

Prof Sabita Rezwana Rahman, chairperson of microbiology, was elected as the vice-president while Prof Akram Hosaain and Prof Abdur Rahim were elected as treasurer and joint general secretary respectively.

The 10 executive members of the panel are – Prof Sadeka Halim, Prof AJM Shafiul Alam Bhuiyan, Prof Ishtiaque M Syed, Prof Saiful Islam, Prof M Amzad Ali, Prof Chandra Nath Podder, Prof Abu Shara Shamshur Rouf, Prof Muhammad Abdul Moyeen and Prof Nisar Hossain.