19 public varsities to hold cluster system entry test

Staff Correspondent

2 December, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Nineteen public universities -- general and science and technology ones -- will hold the admission test under a cluster system from the upcoming 2020-2021 academic session, much to the relief of the admission seekers and their guardians.

Students will sit for an in-person single test for each group to get enrolled at any of the universities and the questions will be prepared based on the syllabuses of Higher Secondary Certificate.

As per the system, the entry test will be held under three groups -- humanities, commerce and science and the students will get the opportunity to get enrolled at any of the universities based on their scores, says the University Grants Commission (UGC).

Earlier on February 26 last, the UGC decided in principle to hold the admission tests of public universities under the cluster system.

The decision was finally approved at a meeting between the UGC and the vice-chancellors of the 19 universities held on Tuesday with UGC Chairman Prof Kazi Shahidullah in the chair.

The 19 universities are Jagannath University, Shahjalal University of Science and Technology, Islamic University, Khulna University, Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University, Comilla University, Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Jashore University of Science and  Technology, Pabna University of Science and Technology, Begum Rokeya University, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University, Barishal University, Rangamati Science and Technology University, Rabindra University, Sheikh Hasina University, Bangamata Sheikh Fojilatunnesa Mujib Science and Technology University and Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Digital University.

Jagannath University VC Prof Dr Mijanur Rahman said the central committee comprised of the VCs of the universities will fix the cluster system. “Every student will get a score after the test.”

The universities in the cluster will publish advertisements in newspapers on the admissions with their respective terms and conditions, he said, adding that students will be enrolled based on their scores. “So, no separate admission test will be held for the students to get enrolled at different varsities.”

Speaking at the virtual meeting, the UGC chairman said there is no scope for the universities to backtrack on the cluster-based admission test amid the Covid-19 pandemic.

He urged the vice-chancellors to prepare for holding the tests in a easy way considering the sufferings of the students and their guardians.

UGC officials said five universities -- Dhaka University, Rajshahi University, Chittagong University, Jahangirnagar University and Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (Buet) -- are unlikely to join in the cluster system.

But the rest of the universities will hold the admission test under the cluster system.

Earlier, seven agriculture universities followed the cluster system for the entry test.