DRU Election

Nomani elected president, Moshiur general secretary

Staff Correspondent

1 December, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Nomani elected president, Moshiur general secretary

Mursalin Nomani of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) and Moshiur Rahman Khan of Samakal have been elected president and general secretary of Dhaka Reporters’ Unity (DRU) respectively on Monday.

Monjurul Ahsan Bulbul, who was the Election Commissioner at the DRU election, announced the results in the evening.

Amid enthusiasm and great festivities, 1,381 voters out of 1,693 cast their ballots to elect the DRU’s executive committee for the year 2021.

The election was held at Nasrul Hamid auditorium of the DRU from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm without any break.

Mursalin Nomani bagged 526 votes while his rivals — Shah Newaz Dulal and Nazrul Islam Mithu — polled 447 and 398 votes respectively.

On the other hand, Moshiur Rahman Khan got 692 votes while two other candidates for the post — Tofajjal Hossain and Abu Al Mursalim Babla — received 426 and 238 votes respectively.

Osman Goni Babul was elected vice-president capturing 553 votes and his nearest candidate Nazrul Kabir got 486 votes while Abul Bashar Nuru got 273 votes.

Arafat Daria was elected joint secretary securing 326 votes whereas Mynul Hassan Sohel was elected organizing secretary securing 770 votes.

Other elected office-bearers are finance secretary — Shah Alom Nur (753 votes), office secretary — Jafar Iqbal (650 votes), women affairs secretary — Rita Nahar (elected unopposed), publicity and publication secretary — Maidur Rahman Rubel (elected unopposed), information technology and training secretary — Halim Mohammad (646 votes),  sports secretary — Maksuda Lisa (792 votes), cultural secretary — Mizan Chowdhury (760 votes), entertainment secretary — Mohammad Nayemuddin (584 votes) and welfare secretary —Khalid Saifullah (elected unopposed).

The executive members are — MM Jasim (792 votes), Azizur Rahman (730 votes), Rumana Zaman (713 votes), Md Mahbubur Rahman (690 votes), Rafiq Rafi (666 votes), Nargis Jui (608 votes) and Jahangir Kiron (551 votes).