BNP names 115-member body to mark golden jubilee of independence

Staff Correspondent

10 November, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) has announced a full-fledged committee to celebrate the golden jubilee of the country’s independence in a befitting manner in the coming year.     

The party’s standing committee member Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain has been made convener and chairperson’s adviser Abdus Salam has been made member secretary of the 115-member committee, said a press release on Monday.

BNP secretary general Mirza Faskhrul Islam Alamgir, standing committee members Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Abdul Moyeen Khan, Nazrul Islam Khan, Amir Khashru Chowdhury, Selima Rahman and Iqbal Hassan Mahmud Tuku have been made members.

The party’s vice chairmen, chairperson’s advisers, joint secretary generals, joint secretaries, secretaries and assistant secretaries, Dhaka north and south city mayoral candidates, acting president of Dhaka north and general secretary of Dhaka south city unit and Chattragram city unit president have also been made members of the committee. 

Earlier on November 1, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir said that the standing committee of BNP has approved the committee to celebrate the golden jubilee of the country’s independence.

He said the standing committee meeting held on the same day asked the convener of the committee, Dr Mosharraf, to take necessary steps in working out various  programmes and implement those to mark the golden jubilee with due respect.