Badalgachhi UZ by-poll

Independent candidate Tipu wins

Our Correspondent

22 October, 2020 12:00 AM printer

NAOGAON: Independent candidate Abdul Hadi Chowdhury Tipu has unofficially been elected as the chairman of Badalgachhi Upazila Parishad (UZ) in the by-election held on Tuesday.

Upazila assistant returning officer Shafi Uddin Sheikh announced the result unofficially on Tuesday night.

Alhajj Abdul Hadi Chowdhury Tipu won the vote securing 7,831 votes, his nearest ruling Awami League (AL) candidate Masud Rana with boat symbol got 6,580 votes and other independent candidate Helal Hossain with Motorcycle symbol got 97.