Dhaka-5 By-polls

Candidates get poll symbols

Staff Correspondent

29 September, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Five candidates, who will contest Dhaka-5 by-polls, were allocated electoral symbols on Monday.    

Returning Officer of the election has allocated the symbols to the candidates at Election Training Institute (ETI) building in the capital’s Agargaon.

Awami League candidate Monirul Islam got ‘boat’ symbol, BNP candidate Salahuddin Ahmed ‘sheaf of paddy’, JP candidate Mir Abdus Sabur Asud ‘plough’, National People’s Party (NPP) candidate Arifur Rahman got ‘mango’ and Bangladesh Congress candidate Ansar Rahman Shikder was allocated ‘coconut’ symbol.

The Dhaka-5 parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP Habibur Rahman Molla.

According to a schedule declared by the Election Commission on September 3, the by-election to the vacant seat will be held on October 17.