Relief Embezzlement

Five more public reps suspended

Staff Correspondent

29 May, 2020 12:00 AM printer

The Local Government Ministry on Thursday suspended five more public representatives including two Union Parishad (UP) chairmen for their alleged involvement in irregularities and corruption of government relief distribution. 

The Local Government Division of the ministry issued separate notifications in this regard.

The suspended chairmen are-- Kabir Ahmed of Biragaon union Parishad in Nabinagar upazila and Md Jamal Uddin Bhuiyan of Bishnupur union under Bijoynagar upazila in Brahmanbaria district.

The three suspended UP members are Md Borhan Uddin Sarkar, a members of ward no 8 of Rayed union of Kapasia upazila under Gazipur district, Bilikish Begum, a reserved seat member of 4, 5 and 96 no wards of Chandpur union under the same upazila and Abu Taher Mia, a member of 2 no ward of Birgaon union of Nabinagar upaizla under Brahmanbaria district.

The notifications said they will be served show case notice as per Section 34(1) of The Local Government Act, 2009 (Union Parishad).

Since the beginning of the Covid-19 outbreak, a total of 71 public representatives including 23 union parishad chairmen, 45 members, two municipality councilors and one zilla parishad member have so far been suspended across the country over relief embezzlement.